Item 4.2

Council Committees - Functions, Membership, Election of Deputy Chairpersons

File No: S062388

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

In accordance with the provisions of section 360 of the Local Government Act 1993, the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021 and clause 19.2 of the City of Sydney Code of Meeting Practice (the Code), the council may establish such committees as it considers necessary.

On 21 February 2022, Council resolved to adopt meeting times, functions, policies and procedures of the following Committees:

- Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, commencing at 2.00pm.
- Business and Economic Development Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee.
- Housing For All Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Business and Economic Development Committee.
- Cultural and Creative Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Housing For All Committee.
- Resilient Communities Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Cultural and Creative Committee.
- Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Resilient Communities Committee.

The administrative arrangements associated with Council's committees are detailed in Attachment A - Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees.

Election of Deputy Chairpersons

Council may elect a Deputy Chairperson of each Committee in accordance with clauses 19.15 and 19.16 of the Code of Meeting Practice.

Previously, the Council has chosen to hold a separate election for each of the Deputy Chairperson positions. Elections were conducted by open, exhaustive voting (that is, by a show of hands or similar means for candidates duly nominated).

At the Council meeting of 21 February 2022, Council elected Deputy Chairpersons for each of Council's Committees for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2022, with the Lord Mayor chairing all Committees.

Council will be required to elect a Deputy Chairperson for each of the following Committees for the new term of office commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2023:

- (1) Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee
- (2) Business and Economic Development Committee
- (3) Housing For All Committee
- (4) Cultural and Creative Committee
- (5) Resilient Communities Committee
- (6) Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee

Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees, as shown at Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) Council elect the Deputy Chairpersons of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, Business and Economic Development Committee, Housing For All Committee, Cultural and Creative Committee, Resilient Communities Committee and Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately following the election and ending on 30 September 2023;
- (C) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting; and
- (D) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith.

MONICA BARONE

Chief Executive Officer

Attachments

Attachment A. Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees